Ink to print, that’s how we roll

Today was our last day with Xtina at Intra Arts – we inked and rolled and printed and were yet again surprised and really pleased with the results.  It was great to see the fused glass pieces made with Kate last week and that has us thinking about future ideas!

I think I’ll leave it to the wonderful KAB Medway Art Group members to sum up our experiences of our time at Intra Arts with Xtina Lamb.

“I wish we had more time. It’s a great way of learning whilst helping others.”

“It’s certainly made a difference to my life. I’m enjoying myself immensely learning about printmaking and being almost 97 years old that’s a lot to say. I have glaucoma and macular degeneration, with no sight at all in my left eye. My mother used to say there’s no such word as can’t.”

“It’s like being back at school, only better.”

“As a newcomer it’s been really lovely making art and being in a group where everyone is in the same boat. You can feel like a nuisance in some places but here I’m accepted and just fit in.”

“Great fun, really enjoying it.”

“I’ve welcomed the opportunity to do something I’ve never done before. It’s fantastic learning new techniques to inspire the imagination”

“Fascinating! Using that Victorian press absolutely thrilled me.”

“We’ll be back Xtina.”

Thank you so much for looking after us, sharing your skills and knowledge. Intra has been a brilliant place to learn new skills while we carry out our research for the tactile timeline for Rochester Cathedral and thank you Michelle Lees, Rochester Cathedral and the KAB.

P.S. We haven’t finished yet, see you on 2nd December!

KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 01
The 3 Musketeers preparing print paper for the press
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 04
The finished fused glass pieces
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 15
Inking up
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 29
My turn!
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 37
Made with Ray in mind
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 44
It worked!
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 43
Ray, this one’s for you
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 52
Vibrant printmaking
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 69
Monotype, with a little brush work, of a hard-working girl
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 53
Inking up at Intra
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 51
Abstract success
KAB Medway Art Group Tactile research at Intra wk 5 Wendy Daws - 55
Our oldest student, almost 97, “I never say no and my mother used to say there’s no such word as can’t, this has certainly made a difference to my life”

 

Leave a Reply

